Industry news

Industry news

Position: Home>news>Industry news
Future prospect of car T cells in the treatment of solid tumors
Source:fdmd Author:fdmd Follow:306 Time:2021-12-08
Author:fdmd Follow:306 Time:2021-12-08

We have discussed the importance of T cell composition for lymphoma / solid tumor patients and the use of car T cell products. Importantly, it is possible to indirectly regulate T cell composition by using optimized extension protocols. Schmueck henneresse et al. It is reported that IL2 (including yescarta) is widely used in clinical car-t proliferation ® And kymriah ®) In contrast, the combination of il7 and IL15 increased the production of car T cells derived from TSCM and TCM [95]. In addition, a recent study by vodnala et al. Reveal that til dysfunction caused by caloric restriction and increased K + concentration in tumors leads to reduced T cell activation and differentiation [30]. The authors used this tumor mediated mechanism to demonstrate that T cells pretreated in vitro at high K + concentration subsequently maintained a less differentiated phenotype in vivo. The persistence of these T cells in the tumor is also better than that of unregulated cells, thus prolonging the survival time and better tumor regression in the mouse model of melanoma. Other strategies to limit cell differentiation include pharmacological blocking of inositol phosphate 3-kinase (PI3K) or shortening the duration of amplification in vitro [121].

 
 
 
 
 


 
 
 
 
 
 

Car T cell product design

 
 
 
 
 

The idea of double antigen targeting, especially in solid tumors, has long been regarded as a very promising and effective treatment.

Hurd et al. Solved the problem of the optimal number of simultaneously targeted antigens, and studied human epidermal growth factor receptor 2 (HER2) and il13r α 2 and EphA2 antigen expression in tumor samples obtained from glioblastoma patients [122]. The authors confirmed that HER2 and il13r were targeted in series α 2 antigen and autologous car T cells reduced the escape of tumor antigen and had a significant positive effect on tumor elimination in vitro and in vivo, while the addition of the third antigen did not have any significant effect. Beneficial effects. In addition, they confirmed that anti-HER2 and anti-il13r were expressed simultaneously compared with mixed cells expressing car alone α 2 the bispecific car T cells of car provide more lasting activity. The authors further reported a tandem car outer domain, tancar, with HER2 binding domain and il13r α 2 combinatorial structural features of binding domains [123]. Compared with the above mixed and bispecific car T cells, these tancar cells resulted in higher cytokine release and tumor cell lysis intensity and prolonged mouse survival. Interestingly, the expression of T cell depletion marker (PD-1), lymphocyte activating gene 3 (Lag3) and T cell receptor (TCR) inhibitory molecule 3 (tim3) on tancar cells and bispecific car - may lead to ts with higher clinical potential.

The primary problem is the optimal design of car itself and the enhancement of immune synapse between car and tumor specific target antigen. For example, scFv affinity, hinge and spacer length may affect car T cell activity [124], as further discussed below.

In addition, the concept of T cells with synthetic notch (synnotch) receptors introduced by Roybal et al. It is proved that T cells are transformed into "soldiers" with a fully customized response to the target antigen [125]. This includes cytokine release, T cell differentiation, or local delivery of unnatural therapeutic payloads, such as antibodies.


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Promising combination methods

 
 
 
 
 

Generally, tumors have a unique combination of driving mechanisms, including TGF caused by a series of immune checkpoints β Dependent T cell depletion and local microenvironment (e.g. tumor phase M2 macrophages). In this case, a promising solution is to use car T cells with anti-tumor specific effects or their combination with other therapies. Some modifications can enhance the anti-tumor weapons of car T cells, such as the expression of dominant inactivated receptors that block inhibitory signal transduction in T cells, such as TGF β [126] or PD-1 [127].

Car T cells based on prostate specific membrane antigen (PSMA) and dominant negative TGF in patients with R / R metastatic prostate cancer β Receptor II (TGF β Phase I clinical trial of RII co expression is in progress (nct03089203).

Other advanced car-t strategies include the release of costimulatory molecules [128] and cytokines [129]. A more flexible option is to combine car T cells with a range of Ci, antibodies or kinase inhibitors. Unfortunately, so far, TME modified drugs are only represented by a few clinically available CIS, such as anti-PD-1 / pd-l1nivolumab, pembrolizumab, cemiplimab, atezolizumab) and anti-CTLA4 (ipilimumab).

A series of novel cis, such as anti-lag3 (imp321 / immunotep) ®), Research is being conducted in phase I or phase II clinical trials [22]. The other is based on anti-PD-1 and anti TGF β The combination therapy is being tested for the treatment of advanced lung cancer / hepatocellular carcinoma (NCT02423343) and metastatic pancreatic cancer (NCT02734160) [130]. Plerixafor is an anti TAM drug which causes almost all the malignant cells in the pancreatic cancer mouse model to disappear. [33] is currently being evaluated in patients with pancreatic cancer, ovarian cancer and colorectal adenocarcinoma (NCT02179970, NCT03277209). Finally, the above synnotch T cells can be administered in combination with conventional T cells to regulate the tumor microenvironment [125].

We should emphasize that the clinical validation of new car-t therapies is crucial because the intercellular interaction between tumors and a fully functional human immune system is not always reproduced in immunocompromised animal models.

In fact, attempts to inhibit the VEGF pathway were made in a preclinical environment by using a combination of anti VEGF bevacizumab and anti gD2 car T cell therapy, which resulted in prolonged survival of SCID / beige mice (orthogonal xenograft model of human neuroblastoma) [131].

However, the combination of bevacizumab and standard treatment lomustine, although no immunotherapy, did not demonstrate improved survival in patients with R / R glioblastoma [79]. Similarly, bevacizumab combined with chemotherapy has not achieved positive results in lymphoma patients [75]. Other preclinical successful therapies, such as truck expressing IL12 [132], showed unexpected toxicity and lack of therapeutic effect after clinical transformation (nct01236573, nct01457131), which eventually led to the termination of clinical trials.


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Universal car T cells

 
 
 
 
 

The limited clinical availability of car-t therapy is due to high cost, time-consuming manufacturing and production failure, which together make the concept of universal car-t (ucar-t) particularly attractive. In 2017, Qasim et al reported that two infants with recurrent all were treated with anti-CD19 UCAR ts and genetically engineered through transcription activator like effector nuclease (talen) to destroy TCR α Expression of chain (prevention of graft-versus-host disease, GVHD) and CD52 (prevention of rejection) [133]. Children were still in CR 12 and 18 months after treatment. Similarly designed anti-cd123 ucar-t is currently being studied in patients with refractory AML in phase I clinical trials [134].

Celyad Inc. used a different approach to develop two car T cell products with natural killer receptors (NKR) (allogeneic cyad-101 and autologous cyad-01), which target a series of ligands expressed in various cancers. The important feature of cyad-101 is the expression of inhibitory peptide T cell receptor (TCR) inhibitory molecule (TIM), which can reduce TCR signal transduction, So as to reduce the possibility of GVHD. These products are now being studied in phase I clinical trials.

In the alloshrink trial (colorectal cancer, cyad-101), 2 of 12 patients achieved partial remission (PR) and 5 achieved SD [135]. In the think test (AML, cyad-01), 6 of 13 patients obtained ANTI LEUKEMIA activity [136]. Neither car T cell product reported significant toxicity.

Allogeneic car T cell therapy may face major obstacles on the road to successful clinical application. The main challenge is to achieve prolonged car T cell persistence without continuous consumption of patient immune cells described by Qasim et al. [133]。 The method of destroying human leukocyte antigen (HLA) expression in car T cells is basically limited by NK and NKT cells that may eliminate HLA negative cells. Additional modifications to HLA-H, HLA-E, or HLA-G expression are needed to protect therapeutic cells from host NK.

Taylor et al. Proposed a similar concept, that is, a "universal" stem cell bank for artificial solid organ transplantation. He confirmed in bioinformatics that 150 homozygous HLA volunteers covered 93% of the UK population and fully matched donor tissues [137]. Theoretically, selective consumption of HLA-A and HLA-B while retaining HLA-C on car T cells may limit the basic pool of allogeneic "off the shelf" cell products to dozens or even fewer. Nevertheless, small histocompatibility antigens (mihags) [138] are derived from an almost infinite diversity of single nucleotide polymorphisms (SNPs) in donors and patients [139]. These antigens can lead to GVHD (in hematopoietic stem cell transplantation) or transplantation rejection (in solid organ recipients) and may also limit the persistence of allogeneic car T cells.


 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

TCR/ CAR

 

 
 
 
 
 

The main feature of car T cells is its HLA independent mechanism of action, but car can not provide a panacea because of the limited number of tumor specificity and tumor associated antigens. Paradoxically, the limitation of TCR based therapy lies in HLA dependence, Although balanced by an almost unlimited number of potential target antigens (Fig. 1). Mutations usually occur in intracellular proteins, and then a large number of related antigenic peptides are presented by HLA [58] , so that these tumor cells can not be directly targeted by car T cells. To support this, it is reported that the high immunogenicity of p53 mutant tumors can be explained by HLA mediated presentation of mutant p53 derived new antigens [140]. Oncogenic p53 mutations are prevalent in different types of human cancers, resulting in poor prognosis, and the potential clinical utility of TCR mediated p53 targeting is emphasized.

Laumont et al analyzed the abundance of new antigens derived from the noncoding region of the human genome / alternative reading frame (RF) and predicted that their number was much higher than that of antigens derived from the canonical RF of the known protein coding region [141]. The protein coding region accounts for only about 2% of the human genome, while the transcriptome covers about 75%, including "non protein coding" transcripts that are still translated [142143]. Considering that 99% of gene mutations are located in those so-called noncoding regions, the number of potential new antigens is expected to be high even in tumors with low TMB.


 

转载分享:CAR T 细胞治疗实体瘤的未来展望(图1)

 


Harris et al. Designed two single chain TCRs for T cell 1 (mart1) / HLA-A2 or Wilms tumor protein (WT1) / HLA-A2 and their recognized melanoma antigens, and directly compared TCR and car based treatment methods in vitro to recognize the car of these antigen / HLA complexes [114].

Despite higher surface expression, car (CD3 ζ  Or CD3 ζ/ CD28) is still 10 to 100 times less sensitive than TCR to its matched peptide / HLA-A2 complex. These findings raise the potential of using car T cells to target antigens that are highly expressed in tumors and low expressed in healthy tissues.

However, case reports of fatal toxicity caused by the effect of car T cells on healthy tissues with low antigen expression suggest that cars must be designed with extreme caution to avoid disproportionate sensitivity problems [144]. Parameters to be considered include the nature of the recognition domain (TCR derived or antibody derived) and its regulation of antigenic affinity [124], and the length of the non signal spacer [8,9]. Considering the relative surface density of tumor antigens, car-t seems to have a higher activation threshold (about 200 antigens per tumor cell) than T cells (1-4 antigen HLA complexes per tumor cell) [124]。 Intelligent solutions to potential toxicity problems involve suicide genes that can be controllably activated in vivo and lead to the safe elimination of car-t cells in patients [145]. It is speculated that car T cells can be administered in combination with traditional T cells and NKR T cells, and double / triple target HLA positive and HLA negative cells to completely eliminate tumors.


 
 
 
 
 

 

本文来自:

图片



X

Wechat QR code

微信号:

(Click micro signal copy)

  Open wechat 

Wechat has been copied. Please open wechat to add details!

行业新闻

Industry news

您现在的位置: 首页>新闻中心>行业新闻
CAR T 细胞治疗实体瘤的未来展望
来源:方德门达 作者:方德门达 关注:913次 更新时间:2021-12-08
作者:方德门达 关注:913次 时间:2021-12-08

我们已经讨论了T细胞组成对淋巴瘤/实体瘤患者和使用 CAR T细胞产品的重要性。重要的是,有可能通过使用优化的扩展协议间接调节T细胞组成。Schmueck-Henneresse 等人。据报道,与广泛用于临床级CAR-T增殖的IL2(包括 Yescarta®和Kymriah®)相比,IL7和IL15的组合增加了源自TSCM和TCM的CAR T细胞的产量[95]。此外,Vodnala 等人最近的研究。揭示由热量限制和肿瘤内K+浓度增加引起的TIL功能障碍导致T细胞活化和分化减少[30]。作者采用这种肿瘤介导的机制来证明,在高K+浓度下离体预处理的T细胞随后在体内保持了较少分化的表型。这些T细胞在肿瘤内的持久性也比未调节的细胞更好,从而在黑色素瘤小鼠模型中延长了存活时间和更好的肿瘤消退。限制细胞分化的其他策略包括磷酸肌醇3-激酶(PI3K)的药理学阻断或缩短体外扩增的持续时间[121]。

 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

CAR T细胞产品设计

 
 
 
 
 

双抗原靶向的想法,尤其是在实体瘤中,长期以来一直被视为一种非常有前途和富有成效的治疗方法。

赫德等人解决了同时靶向抗原的最佳数量的问题,并研究了人表皮生长因子受体2 (HER2)、IL13Rα2和EphA2 抗原在从胶质母细胞瘤患者获得的肿瘤样本中的表达[122]。作者证实,通过串联靶向HER2和IL13Rα2抗原与自体CAR T细胞,减轻肿瘤抗原逃逸对体外和体内肿瘤消除产生明显的积极影响,而添加第三种抗原并没有产生任何显着的影响。有益的效果。此外,他们证实,与单独表达CAR的混合细胞相比,同时表达抗HER2和抗IL13Rα2 CAR的双特异性CAR T细胞提供更持久的活性。作者进一步报告了串联 CAR外域TanCAR,具有HER2结合域和 IL13Rα2 结合域的组合结构特征[123]。与上述混合和双特异性CAR T细胞相比,这些 TanCAR 细胞导致了更高的细胞因子释放和肿瘤细胞溶解强度以及延长的小鼠存活率。有趣的是,T细胞耗竭标志物(PD-1、淋巴细胞激活基因3(LAG3)和T细胞受体(TCR)抑制分子3(TIM3)在TanCAR细胞上的表达与双特异性CAR-可能导致其更高临床潜力的 Ts。

首要问题是CAR本身的优化设计以及CAR与肿瘤特异性靶抗原之间免疫突触的增强。例如,scFv亲和力、铰链和间隔区长度可能会影响CAR T细胞活性[124],如下文进一步讨论。

此外,由Roybal等人引入的具有合成Notch (synNotch) 受体的T细胞的概念。证明了T细胞转化为“士兵”,对目标抗原具有完全定制的反应[125]。这包括细胞因子释放、T 细胞分化或非天然治疗有效载荷的局部递送,例如抗体。

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

有前景的组合方法

 
 
 
 
 

通常,肿瘤具有独特的驱动机制组合,包括一系列免疫检查点导致的TGFβ依赖性T细胞耗竭和局部微环境(例如肿瘤相 M2巨噬细胞)的募集。在这种情况下,一个有前景的解决方案是使用抗肿瘤特异性影响的CAR T细胞或其与其他疗法的组合。某些修饰可以增强CAR T细胞的抗肿瘤武器,例如,阻断T细胞内抑制性信号传导的显性失活受体的表达,例如TGFβ[126]或PD-1[127]。

在R/R转移性前列腺癌患者中,基于前列腺特异性膜抗原 (PSMA)的CAR T细胞与显性阴性TGFβ受体II(TGFβRII)共表达的I期临床试验正在进行中(NCT03089203)。

其他先进的CAR-T策略包括释放辅助共刺激分子[128] 和细胞因子[129]。更灵活的选择是将CAR T细胞与一系列 CI、抗体或激酶抑制剂相结合。不幸的是,迄今为止,TME 修饰药物仅由少数临床可用的CI代表,例如抗PD-1/PD-L1nivolamab、pembrolizumab、cemiplimab、atezolizumab)和抗CTLA4(ipilimumab)药物。

一系列新型 CI,例如抗LAG3(IMP321/Immuntep®),正在I期或 II 期临床试验中进行研究[22]。另一种基于抗PD-1和抗TGFβ联合疗法的方法正在测试用于治疗晚期肺癌/肝细胞癌(NCT02423343) 和转移性胰腺癌(NCT02734160)[130]。Plerixafor是一种抗TAM药物,导致胰腺癌小鼠模型中恶性细胞几乎完全消失[33],目前正在胰腺癌、卵巢癌和结直肠腺癌患者中进行评估 (NCT02179970、NCT03277209)。最后,上述synNotch T细胞可以与常规T细胞联合给药以调节肿瘤微环境[125]。

我们应该强调,新型CAR-T疗法的临床验证至关重要,因为肿瘤与功能齐全的人类免疫系统之间的细胞间相互作用并不总是在免疫功能低下的动物模型中重现。

事实上,通过使用抗VEGF贝伐单抗和抗GD2 CAR T细胞疗法的组合,在临床前环境中进行了抑制VEGF通路的尝试,这导致SCID/Beige小鼠(人类神经母细胞瘤的正交异种移植模型)的存活期延长)[131]。

然而,贝伐单抗与标准治疗洛莫司汀的组合,尽管没有进行免疫治疗,但并未证明R/R胶质母细胞瘤患者的生存率得到改善[79]。同样,贝伐单抗联合化疗在淋巴瘤患者中也没有取得积极成果[75]。其他临床前成功的疗法,如表达 IL12的TRUCK[132],在临床转化后表现出意想不到的毒性和缺乏治疗效果(NCT01236573、NCT01457131),最终导致临床试验终止。

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

通用 CAR T 细胞

 
 
 
 
 

CAR-T疗法的临床可用性有限是由于高成本、耗时的制造和生产失败,这些共同使得通用CAR-T(UCAR-T)的概念特别有吸引力。2017年Qasim等人报道了两名患有复发性ALL 的婴儿,他们接受了抗CD19 UCAR-Ts的治疗,通过转录激活因子样效应核酸酶(TALEN)进行基因工程,以破坏TCRα链(防止移植物抗宿主病,GvHD)和CD52(防止排斥反应)的表达)[133]。儿童在治疗后12个月和18个月后仍处于CR。类似设计的抗CD123 UCAR-T目前正在I期临床试验中对难治性AML患者进行研究[134]。

Celyad Inc.使用了一种不同的方法来开发两种带有自然杀伤受体(NKR)的CAR T细胞产品(同种异体CYAD-101和自体CYAD-01),其靶向一系列在各种癌症中表达的配体。CYAD-101的重要特征是抑制性肽T 细胞受体(TCR)抑制分子 (TIM)的表达,可降低TCR信号传导,从而降低发生GvHD 的可能性。这些产品现在正在I期临床试验中进行研究。

在alloSHRINK 试验(结肠直肠癌,CYAD-101)中,12 名患者中有2名实现了部分缓解 (PR),另外5名实现了SD [135]。在THINK试验(AML、CYAD-01)中,13名患者中有 6名获得了抗白血病活性[136]。两种CAR T细胞产品均未报告显着毒性。

同种异体CAR T细胞疗法在成功临床应用的道路上可能面临重大障碍。主要挑战是在不持续消耗Qasim等人描述的患者免疫细胞的情况下实现延长的CAR T细胞持久性。[133]。破坏 CAR T细胞中人类白细胞抗原(HLA)表达的方法基本上受到可能消除 HLA 阴性细胞的 NK 和 NKT 细胞的限制。需要对 HLA-H、HLA-E 或 HLA-G 表达进行额外的修改,以保护治疗细胞免受宿主 NK 的影响。

Taylor等人提出了一个类似的概念,即用于人工实体器官移植的“通用”干细胞库,他在生物信息学上证实,150 名纯合HLA型志愿者覆盖了93%的英国人口完全匹配的供体组织[137]。从理论上讲,选择性消耗HLA-A和HLA-B同时保留CAR T细胞上的HLA-C可能会将同种异体“现成”细胞产品的基本池限制在几十个甚至更少。尽管如此,由于微小组织相容性抗原(MiHAgs) [138]源自近乎无限多样性的单核苷酸多态性(SNP)在供体和患者中[139]。这些抗原会导致GvHD(在造血干细胞移植中)或移植排斥(在实体器官受者中),并且还可能限制同种异体CAR T细胞的持久性。

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

TCR或 CAR

 

 
 
 
 
 

CAR T细胞的主要特征是其HLA独立的作用机制,但CAR 并不能提供灵丹妙药,因为肿瘤特异性和肿瘤相关抗原的数量有限。矛盾的是,基于TCR的疗法的局限性在于HLA依赖性,尽管被几乎无限数量的潜在靶抗原平衡(图 1)。突变通常发生在细胞内蛋白质中,然后大量相关抗原肽由HLA呈递[58],使得此类肿瘤细胞不能直接被CAR T细胞靶向。为了支持这一点,据报道,p53突变肿瘤的高免疫原性可以通过HLA介导的突变p53衍生新抗原的呈递来解释[140]。在不同类型的人类癌症中普遍存在致癌p53突变导致预后不良,并强调了TCR介导的p53靶向的潜在临床效用。

劳蒙特等人分析了源自人类基因组/替代阅读框(RF)的非编码区的新抗原的丰度,并预测它们的数量远高于源自已知蛋白质编码区的规范RF的抗原的数量[141]。蛋白质编码区域仅占人类基因组的约2%,而转录组覆盖约75%,包括仍被翻译的“非蛋白质编码”转录本[142,143]。考虑到99%的基因突变位于那些所谓的非编码区域,即使在TMB较低的肿瘤中,预计潜在新抗原的数量也会很高。

 

转载分享:CAR T 细胞治疗实体瘤的未来展望(图1)

 

图1. CAR T细胞疗法与TCR疗法相比的优缺点。

哈里斯等人通过对T细胞1(MART1)/HLA-A2或Wilms肿瘤蛋白(WT1)/HLA-A2 和各自识别的黑色素瘤抗原设计两个单链TCR,对基于TCR和CAR的治疗方法进行直接体外比较识别这些抗原/HLA复合物的CAR[114]。

尽管表面表达更高,但CAR(CD3ζ 或 CD3ζ/CD28)对其匹配的肽/HLA-A2复合物的敏感性仍然比TCR低10到100倍。这些发现引发了关于使用CAR T细胞靶向在肿瘤中高表达而在健康组织中低表达的抗原的潜力。

然而,由CAR T细胞对抗原表达低的健康组织的作用引起的致命毒性病例报告表明,必须极其谨慎地设计 CAR,以避免不成比例的敏感性问题[144]。需要考虑的参数包括识别域的性质(TCR衍生的或抗体衍生的)及其对抗原亲和力的调节[124],以及非信号间隔区的长度[8,9]。考虑到肿瘤抗原的相对表面密度,CAR-T似乎比T细胞(每个肿瘤细胞 1-4 个抗原-HLA 复合物)具有更高的激活阈值(每个肿瘤细胞约200个抗原)[124]。潜在毒性问题的智能解决方案涉及可以在体内可控激活的自杀基因,并导致安全消除患者体内的CAR-T细胞[145]。据推测,CAR T细胞可以与传统 T细胞和NKR T细胞联合给药,同时双重/三重靶向HLA阳性和HLA阴性细胞,以完全消灭肿瘤。

 
 
 
 
 

 

本文来自:

图片


X

截屏,微信识别二维码

微信号:

(点击微信号复制,添加好友)

  打开微信 

微信号已复制,请打开微信添加咨询详情!